Free Pattern: Lacy I-Cord Point Snowflake

This pattern is new as of today. I “finished” it on November 7, but you know how that goes. Tweak, tweak, tweak! Try a different yarn along the outer edge! Make the i-cord points a three-part deal instead of just one! Add beads! Isn’t creativity fun??

You’ll read evidence of all of that tweaking in the PDF below, which contains complete pattern instructions.

This design mimics someone else’s snowflake pattern that required crochet skills to create a beautiful edging – and there’s your first clue as to my desperation!

I must be getting old… Last year, I made that other pattern with pretty fair success, managing to work the required chain stitches and to attach them at the correct spots along the perimeter of the already-bound-off ornament. This year, though, I posted on my local fiber guild’s Facebook group that I’d hurled my ball of yarn across the room in frustration as my crochet hook repeatedly refused to cooperate!

It is good to look for solutions rather than to wallow in defeat. So, I pulled from past experience building 8-sided wool bowl bases with “K f/b” increases. The idea of using “i-cord loop” embellishment during the bind-off round came from my very last knitting project, a circular shoulder wrap. I was really excited about learning that new skill at the time, made very easy to understand in the pattern, which was part of the 2020 pattern-a-day “calendar” of loose-sheet patterns. Now, I am doubly excited about it, having found so soon a new and appropriate place to apply the technique.

Enjoy trying this brand-new snowflake pattern for your tree or as a quick gift for a friend, family member, neighbor, or barista! ;0-) I wish you and your loved ones a blessed, merry, safe, special, worshipful Christmas season in 2020.



2 thoughts on “Free Pattern: Lacy I-Cord Point Snowflake

Leave a comment